David PowellWinnipeg – WinnipegREALTORS® is proud to announce David Powell as its 2014 president. He takes over the helm from outgoing president Richard Dettman.  Powell becomes WinnipegREALTORS®’ 111th president and will lead over 1800 members active in the local real estate market.

“2014 promises to be a very interesting and eventful year”, said David Powell, president of WinnipegREALTORS®. “There will be much going on with our active pursuit of finding better technological solutions for our REALTORS® to serve buyers and sellers more effectively in selling, buying or leasing a property on our MLS® or Commercial Property Information Exchange®.  We will also be  involved in the review of The Real Estate Brokers Act, the third Winnipeg real estate forum,  affordable housing issues such as the land transfer tax, putting on a 2014 mayoral forum and our fourth annual Gimme Shelter event this March to raise thousands of dollars for shelter-related causes.”

If the local association strategic objectives activity is not enough to keep the new president busy, Powell has been recruited to serve on the Canadian Real Estate Association’s strategic planning taskforce with meetings already happening this week.

“Serving on a national body and meeting my colleagues from across the country can only  enhance what I am able to learn and bring back to Winnipeg,” said Powell.

David Powell is the owner and broker of Powell Property Group, an independent brokerage based in Winnipeg.  He started his real estate career in 1990, switched from a franchise company to an independent in 1993, and then established his own company in 1997.  Over the years he has been involved in many committees at all three levels of organized real estate and with The Independent Real Estate Brokers of Manitoba.

“I look forward to harnessing all the experience and insights I have gained to lead WinnipegREALTORS® to successful outcomes in 2014,”said Powell.

As for the market itself, he gets to kickoff WinnipegREALTORS® annual forecast breakfast scheduled next Wednesday at Canad Inns Polo Park. It will include both an MLS® and commercial forecast, an update on downtown development from CentreVenture’s Ross McGowan and a keynote presentation from Wilf Falk, the Province of Manitoba’s chief statistician.

Powell is complimented by a very able 11 directors.

The 2014 WinnipegREALTORS® Board of Directors are as follows:

David Powell, President Powell Property Group
David MacKenzie, President-Elect Sigmar MacKenzie Real Estate Services Ltd.
Stewart Elston, Treasurer Realty Executives Premiere
Richard Dettman, Past President Cornerstone Properties Inc.
Susan Belanger, SDEC Chair Century 21 Bachman & Associates
Desiree Alarie, SDEC Vice-Chair RE/MAX executives realty
Ken Jones, Commercial Division Chair Shindico Realty Inc.
Kourosh Doustshenas Expert Real Estate Services
Chris Dudeck Coldwell Banker Preferred Real Estate
Donna Kirsch Gateway Real Estate
Blair Sonnichsen Royal LePage Dynamic Real Estate
Val Werhun Royal LePage Top Producers Real Estate


Established in 1903, WinnipegREALTORS® is a professional association representing over 1,800 real estate brokers, salespeople, appraisers, and financial members active in the Greater Winnipeg Area real estate market.  Its REALTOR® members adhere to a strict code of ethics and share a state-of-the-art Multiple Listing Service® (MLS®) designed exclusively for REALTORS®. WinnipegREALTORS® serves its members by promoting the benefits of an organized real estate profession.  REALTOR®, MLS® and Multiple Listing Service® are trademarks owned and controlled by The Canadian Real Estate Association and are used under licence.

For further information, contact Peter Squire at 786-8854.